The Academy is governed by the Governing Board, consisting of the President, the Vice-president, the Secretary general, the Vice-secretary general, the Treasurer, the Account auditor, the Patrimonial keeper and the Librarian, the Directors of the Sections and the Director of the Fabra Observatory.

The Academy has 75 numerary members distributed  in Sections, and an indefinite number of emeritus, supernumerary and correspondent members; the latter are  elected from among those persons with no usual residence in Barcelona nor in its surroundings and who have performed studies of recognised scientific merit.

The name of the Sections and the number of their members are as follows:

Section 1 Mathematics and Astronomy (12 members)
Section 2 Physics (9 members)
Section 3 Chemistry (9 members)
Section 4 Earth Science (12 members)
Section 5 Biology (15 members)
Section 6 Technology (12 members)
Section 7 Arts (6 members)